Copa America Centenario team pots released ahead of Sunday’s draw

Copa America Centenario team pots released ahead of Sunday’s draw

Ahead of Sunday’s Copa America Centenario draw in New York City, the Copa America Centenario Executive Committee released the details of how teams will be seeded.

All 16 participating teams have been divided into groups of four teams per pot. Pot 1 contains the United States, Brazil, Mexico, and Argentina. All four of these countries have already been placed in four different groups.

Pot 2 contains the higher-ranked CONMEBOL sides of Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, and Uruguay. Pot 3 has the four qualified CONCACAF teams of Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, and Pot 4 contains the reaming nations of Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela.

Pots 2 and 4, which contain the South American teams, were determined on the December 2015 FIFA World Rankings.

The draw will be televised on Univision on Sunday at 4:30 p.m. PT. The tournament will be held in 10 U.S. Cities from June 3-26. The Rose Bowl will hold matches on June 4, 7, and 9. Levi’s Stadium will hold matches on June 3, 6, 13, and 18. Univeristy of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, will hold matches on June 5, 8, and the third place match on June 25.

Here are the four pots:

Pot 1 (Seeded Nations): United States, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina
Pot 2 (CONMEBOL – higher ranked nations): Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Uruguay
Pot 3 (CONCACAF – qualified nations): Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama
Pot 4 (CONMEBOL – remaining nations): Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela