California Native Arturo Vasquez Named To U-17 CONCACAF Championship Roster

California Native Arturo Vasquez Named To U-17 CONCACAF Championship Roster

Looking for the same success the U-20 Men’s National Team had earlier this year when it won the U-20 CONCACAF Championship, U.S. U-17 Men’s National Team Head Coach John Hackworth has named a 20-player roster that will compete in the 2017 CONCACAF U-17 Championship that runs from April 21 – May 7 in Panama.

Included in the roster is one California native, Arturo Vasquez who is from Mira Loma and competes for FC Golden State.

The U.S. open the tournament on Sunday, April 23 against Jamaica, which is followed by Mexico on April 26, and then El Salvador on April 29. All three matches will be live streamed on the CONCACAF Facebook page.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the classification stage that will feature two groups of three teams. The top two teams in this stage will automatically advance to the U-17 World Cup in India that will take place later this year from October 6 – 28.

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (Benfica; Philadelphia, Pa.), Justin Garces (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (5): Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), James Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Akil Watts (IMG Academy; Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake AZ; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS (6): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Zyen Jones (Atlanta United FC; Clarkston, Ga.), Bryan Reynolds, Jr. (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.) Timothy Weah (Paris Saint-Germain; Rosedale, N.Y.)