2017 Gold Cup & Mexico Are Coming To San Diego In July

2017 Gold Cup & Mexico Are Coming To San Diego In July

CONCACAF announced venues and seeded teams for the upcoming 2017 Gold Cup and San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium has been selected to host Group C’s matches on July 9.

Mexico and the United States are the only two seeded teams out of three groups. U.S. was seeded in Group B and Mexico was seeded in Group C while Group A’s seeded teams is to be determined. Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara and the Rose Bowl have both been selected to host knockout round matches. No details were released on what matches those would be.

The Rose Bowl hosted the final of the 2011 Gold Cup and group stage matches in 2013 while the StubHub Center hosted group matches in 2015.

Canada, Curacao, Martinique, French Guiana, and Jamaica have all qualified along with the U.S. and Mexico. There are five spots left and four will go to teams in the Central American Zone (Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama). The fifth place team from the Central American Zone will face either Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname, or Haiti for the last remaining spot.

The 2017 Gold Cup will be played from July 7-26 in 14 stadiums in 13 metropolitan areas. Red Bull Arena (New York), Nissan Stadium (Nashville), BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston), Raymond James Stadium (Tampa), Sports Authority Field (Denver), Toyota Stadium (Frisco), FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland), and the Alamodome will all host group matches.

University of Phoenix Stadium (Phoenix), Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia), and AT&T Stadium (Arlington) will host knockout round matches.

Mexico won the 2015 Gold Cup defeating Jamaica 3-1. The U.S. were defeated by Jamaica 2-1 in the semifinals before losing to Panama on penalties in the third place match.