USPNT Roster for the 2015 Parapan American Games

USPNT Roster for the 2015 Parapan American Games

SAN DIEGO – U.S. Paralympic National Team Head Coach Stuart Sharp selected his 14 men roster to represent the U.S. at the Parapan American Games coming up in Toronto, Canada.

The U.S. will face Canada, Venezuela, Argentina and Brazil in the preliminary stage and all of these games will be held at the University of Toronto. The matches start on August 9th with U.S. vs. Canada as the first one. Then the U.S. plays the other 3 teams in the consecutive days.

The elimination round starts on August 14th and the final game and closing ceremony on August 15th.

[quote_box_center]“The players and staff are looking forward to getting on the plane to Toronto to join up with the rest of Team USA at the Parapan American Games next month,” said Sharp. “It has been a busy and successful year for the USPNT program and all the U.S. Soccer National Teams in general, therefore we are keen to continue this momentum.[/quote_box_center]

[quote_box_center]“We will be taking a squad with only two changes to the group that recently made the quarterfinals of the World Championships, therefore we will have a nice blend of youth and experience in Canada.”[/quote_box_center]

The U.S. already qualified for the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil as they finished 7th at the World Championships.

[quote_box_center]“In 2015 so far, with squad qualifying for the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio, we have managed to achieve a number of our objectives but this season is not yet over,” said Sharp. “I am sure there will be teams in Toronto going out prove themselves against us, however we are firmly focused on finishing the competition in a podium place and representing the USA to our best.”[/quote_box_center]

Out of the 14 players in the roster, 3 players are from California: midfielders Mason Abbiate from San Diego, David Garza from Chula Vista and Marthell Vazquez from Long Beach.


U.S. Paralympic National Team Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (1): Keith Johnson (Houston, Texas)

DEFENDERS (2): Bryce Boarman (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Kevin Hensley (Memphis, Tenn.)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Mason Abbiate (San Diego, Calif.), Adam Ballou (Virginia Beach, Va.), Tyler Bennett (Wadsworth, Ohio), David Garza (Chula Vista, Calif.), Daniel Hoffman (Reisterstown, Md.), Seth Jahn (Tampa, Fla.), Gavin Sibayan (Colorado Spring, Colo.), Marthell Vazquez (Long Beach, Calif.), Jordan Weise (Jacksonville, Fla.)

FORWARDS (2): Jackson McCabe (Boulder, Colo.), Michael Moore (Plano, Texas)