USL Announces 2016 Conference Alignment and Season Format

USL Announces 2016 Conference Alignment and Season Format

Today the USL have announced the alignment, regular season and playoff format for the 2016 USL Season. This season there are 6 new teams in the league, taking the total number up to 29 teams (Austin Aztecs have taken a hiatus for the forseeable future) set to compete in the league’s sixth season in pursuit of the USL Cup.

Bethlehem Steel FC, FC Cincinnati, Orlando City B, Rio Grande Valley FC, the Swope Park Rangers and San Antonio are all set to compete in the new season.

The USL will retain a two-conference format, with 14 teams making up the Eastern Conference and 15 teams making up the Western Conference. The 30-game regular season will be conducted over 27 weeks, which will kick off on March 25 and conclude on September 25.

Eastern Conference

Western Conference

Bethlehem Steel FC


Charleston Battery

Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

Charlotte Independence

LA Galaxy II

FC Cincinnati

OKC Energy FC

Harrisburg City Islanders

Orange County Blues FC

Louisville City FC

Portland Timbers 2

FC Montreal

Real Monarch SLC

New York Red Bulls II

Rio Grande Valley FC

Orlando City B

Sacramento Republic FC

Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Saint Louis FC

Richmond Kickers

San Antonio

Rochester Rhinos

Seattle Sounders FC 2

Toronto FC II

Swope Park Rangers

Wilmington Hammerheads FC

Tulsa Roughnecks FC


 Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

The team with the best record across both conferences will earn the 2016 USL Regular Season Title. The top eight teams in each conference will then advance to the 2016 USL Playoffs, which will see a single-elimination bracket crown two conference champions. The two conference champions will advance to the 2016 USL Championship.