U-17 WNT training camp in Carson, California for World Cup Qualifying

U-17 WNT training camp in Carson, California for World Cup Qualifying

SAN DIEGO – The U.S. U-17 Women’s National Team will have a training camp at the U.S. National Training Center in Carson, California from August 9th until 16th. The camp will be lead by head coach B.J. Snow, who called up 24 players for the camp. Out of the 24 players, 16 of them were born in 1999 and 8 were born in 2000. Out of the 24 players, 4 are from California: goalkeeper Hillary Beall from Laguna Beach, defenders Naomi Girma from San Jose, Kiara Pickett from Santa Barbara and Karina Rodriguez from Torrance.

The U-17 Women’s World Cup Qualifying is still seven months away. In March of next year, the CONCAFAF U-17 Women’s Championship will start in Grenada, an island on the Caribbean. Three teams out of this tournament will have a spot guaranteed in the World Cup, which will happen in September of 2016 in Jordan.

The U-17 Women’s Championship will have 8 teams total, including 3 from the Caribbean Football Union, 2 from the Central American Football Union and 3 from North America.

United States, Mexico and Canada are automatically qualified to represent the North America region while teams for the other regions still have to compete in the next few months for their spots. Grenada, as part of the Caribbean and the host country, is automatically qualified.

The 8 teams will be separated in 2 groups of 4 teams, and after the group stage, the first and second place of each group advance and to play the semifinals. The winners of the semifinals automatically qualify for the U-17 World Cup, the two losing teams will play for third place and whoever wins also advances.


U.S. U-17 WNT Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Hillary Beall (West Coast FC; Laguna Beach, Calif.), Brooke Bollinger (Space Coast United; Indialantic, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (8): Kerry Abello (Team Chicago; Aurora, IL.), Chyanne Dennis (Lauderhill Lions; Sunrise, Fla.), Naomi Girma (Central Valley Crossfire; San Jose, Calif.), Shae Holmes (Real Colorado; Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Karlie Paschall (Tennessee SC; Brentwood, Tenn.), Kiara Pickett (Eagles SC; Santa Barbara, Calif.), Karina Rodriguez (SoCal Blues; Torrance, Calif.), Sydney Zandi (Penn Fusion; West Chester, Pa.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Coriana Dyke (Colorado Rush; Littleton, Colo.), Emina Ekic (Javanon; Fairdale, Ky.), Jaelin Howell (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Brianna Pinto (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Taryn Torres (Solar-Chelsea SC; Frisco, Texas), Olivia Wade (LaRoca FC; Kaysville, Utah), Summer Yates (Pac NW; Pasco, Wash.)

FORWARDS (7): McKinley Burkett (Richmond United; Moseley, Va.), Rachael Dorwart (PA Classics; Mechanicsburg, Pa.), Rachel Jones (Tophat SC; Lawrenceville, Ga.), Civana Kuhlmann (Colorado Rush; Littleton, Colo.), Alexa Spaanstra (Michigan Hawks; Brighton, Mich.), Francesca Tagliaferri (PDA; Colts Neck, NJ.), Jordan Taylor (Ohio Premier Eagles; Wadsworth, Ohio)