Proudly Sponsored by soccer loco
            Visit Us at Twitter Visit Us at Facebook See Us at YouTube
W-League News - Announce Awards
W-League News - Announce Awards | USL, W-League, W-League Championships

The W-League will announce winners of the 2012 regular season honors during a Media & Awards banquet on Saturday, July 28. Photo Credit: USL W-League

Women's Soccer News: W-League Regular Season Awards Finalists Announced

Winners to be named Saturday at Media & Awards Banquet in Ottawa, Ontario

The W-League today announced the finalists for its 2012 regular season honors. The awards for Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year will be presented at Saturday’s Media & Awards Banquet at the 2012 W-League Championship presented by Umbro in Ottawa, Ontario.

A total of nine W-League teams are represented among the finalists, with the Pali Blues leading the way with six nominations. Pali goalkeeper Anna Maria Picarelli, named to the All-League Team Tuesday, is a nominee for both MVP and Goalkeeper of the Year. Ten of the nominees will participate in the 2012 W-League Championship final four Friday and Sunday in Ottawa.

The host Ottawa Fury boast a pair of award finalists – Katrina-Lee Gorry for Rookie of the Year and Jasmine Phillips for Goalkeeper of the Year. The Seattle Sounders Women, North Jersey Valkyries and Charlotte Lady Eagles also have a pair of finalists each.

Votes for W-League honors are submitted by W-League team management and finalists are determined by All-Conference voting.

2012 W-League Award Finalists


Grace Hawkins, Long Island Rough Riders

Veronica Perez, Seattle Sounders Women

Anna Maria Picarelli, Pali Blues

Rookie of the Year

Katherine Courter, North Jersey Valkyries

Katrina-Lee Gorry, Ottawa Fury

Michelle Pao, Pali Blues

Lynn Williams, Pali Blues

Defender of the Year

Sasha Andrews, Pali Blues

Stephanie Cox, Seattle Sounders Women

Cindy Walsh, Laval Comets

Goalkeeper of the Year

Robyn Jones, Charlotte Lady Eagles

Jasmine Phillips, Ottawa Fury

Anna Maria Picarelli, Pali Blues

Coach of the Year

Samir Ghrib, Quebec City Amiral

Lee Horton, Charlotte Lady Eagles

Mike Jorden, D.C. United Women

Charlie Naimo, Pali Blues

Mark White, North Jersey Valkyries

W-League: The W-League is the first and longest-standing women’s soccer league in North American, featuring the highest level of women’s soccer in the United States and Canada. With emphasis on quality ownership, retention, league standards and player development, the W-League is the strongest, most sophisticated and best organized women’s league on and off the field. The 2012 W-League campaign features 30 teams in three regional conference playing 12-14 regular season matches. In addition to the league’s international and professional stars, elite amateur players have the opportunity to compete in the W-League while maintaining their collegiate eligibility. The league is recognized throughout the world for providing superior competition for female players, while offering affordable family entertainment for fans throughout North America.

Related Articles: W-League on SoccerNation

Related Articles

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software