Proudly Sponsored by soccer loco
            Visit Us at Twitter Visit Us at Facebook See Us at YouTube
W-League Announces 2012 Schedule
W-League Announces 2012 Schedule | W-League, Hope Solo, Sydney Leroux

Women's Soccer News: 2012 W-League Schedule and Alignment Released

30 teams to battle for spots at 2012 championships in Ottawa

The USL W-League released its divisional alignment and schedule for 2012 today, with the action slated to kick off for the 193-game regular season on Friday, May 11. A trio of new W-League teams will make their debut in 2012, with the Central South Carolina Cobras, FC Jax Destroyers and VSI Tampa Flames kicking off their inaugural seasons to boost the league roster to 30.

“We couldn’t be more excited about what the 2012 W-League season will bring,” said Amanda Duffy, senior director of the W-League. “The league has continued its steady growth and now boasts several teams with ties to MLS clubs, so the W-League’s profile in the North American women’s soccer landscape has never been greater.”

The W-League remains divided into three geographic conferences – Eastern Conference, Central Conference and Western Conference – though the Eastern Conference has grown to three five-team divisions. The Central Conference features seven teams in a single division, while the Western Conference has eight teams. W-League clubs will play 12-14 game schedules in 2012, with each team facing each opponent in its division home and away in the Central and Western Conferences and teams playing three times in each of the Eastern Conference’s divisions.

2012 W-League Alignment

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Northeast Division

Southeast Division

DC United Women

Long Island Rough Riders

Atlanta Silverbacks

Dayton Dutch Lions

New Jersey Rangers

Central South Carolina Cobras

Fredericksburg Impact

New Jersey Wildcats

Charlotte Lady Eagles

Northern Virginia Majestics

New York Magic

FC Jax Destroyers

Virginia Beach Piranhas

North Jersey Valkyries

VSI Tampa Flames


Central Conference

Western Conference

Hamilton FC Rage

Colorado Force

Laval Comets

Colorado Rush

London Gryphons

LA Strikers

Ottawa Fury

Pali Blues

Quebec City Amiral

Santa Clarita Blue Heat

Rochester Ravens

Seattle Sounders Women

Toronto Lady Lynx

Vancouver Whitecaps FC


Victoria Highlanders

The season opens on Friday, May 11 as new franchise the VSI Tampa Flames visit the Charlotte Lady Eagles. The opening weekend of the season also sees the Pali Blues and LA Strikers renew their rivalry and defending Western Conference champions the Vancouver Whitecaps travel to face the Victoria Highlanders on Sunday, May 13.

2011 USL W-League champions the Atlanta Silverbacks begin their title defense on Friday, May 18 when they host the Central SC Cobras at Atlanta Silverbacks Park, while the Seattle Sounders Women, and new signings Hope Solo and Sydney Leroux, open their season at the Starfire Sports Complex on Sunday, May 20 against the Colorado Rush.

The final weekend of the regular season is set for July 13-15, with 27 of the 30 teams in action as the race for postseason spots winds down. The Ottawa Fury will host the 2012 USL W-League Championship presented by UMBRO, welcoming the three W-League conference champions July 27-29 to the Algonquin College Soccer Complex for the semifinals and final featuring some of the world’s top amateur, international and professional women’s soccer stars.

The 18th W-League season will see 11 teams advance to the postseason with one champion advancing from each conference. The three conference champions will join the Fury in Ottawa in a ‘final four’ format championship. The semifinals will be played on Friday, July 27 with the winners meeting for the 2012 W-League Championship on Sunday, July 29.

The W-League is recognized throughout the world for providing superior competition for female players, while offering affordable family entertainment for fans across North America. The caliber of W-League talent was well represented in the recent CONCACAF Olympic Qualifiers where all 20 Canadian Women’s National Team members and 15 of the 20 U.S. Women’s National Team members boasted W-League experience including 2011 W-League Rookie of the Year Leroux and Ottawa Fury Youth Program graduate and W-League striker Christina Julien.

W-League: The first and longest-standing women’s league in North America, the W-League is the highest level of women’s soccer in the United States and Canada. The 2012 W-League campaign will feature 30 teams in three regional conferences playing 12-14 regular season matches. The W-League features international and professional stars, and elite amateur players have the opportunity to compete in the W-League while maintaining their collegiate eligibility. The league is recognized throughout the world for providing superior competition for female players, while offering affordable family entertainment for fans across North America.

Related Articles: W-League on SoccerNation

SeaLIons are proud Sponsors of SoccerNation

The NEW Women's Soccer editorial section is sponsored by the San Diego SeaLions. We deeply appreciate the SeaLions helping to offset the costs associated with this editorial coverage and want to acknowledge their tremendous support of women's soccer.

SeaLions are one of the oldest female soccer clubs in the USA. The WPSL is a seventy-plus team national women's soccer league with five conferences and is considered one of the top women's soccer leagues in the world. For more information, please email Amie Becker.


Related Articles

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software